Manufactured homes are built as dwelling units of at least 320 square feet in size with a permanent chassis to assure the initial and continued transportability of the home. All transportable sections of manufactured homes built in the U.S. after June 15, 1976, must contain a HUD label. The label is the manufacturer's certification that the home section is built in accordance with HUD's construction and safety standards. HUD standards cover Body and Frame Requirements, Thermal Protection, Structural, Plumbing, Electrical, Fire Safety and other aspects of the home. They are published in the Code of Federal Regulations at 24 CFR 3280.
During the 2010 legislative session, House Bill 1055 was passed by the Georgia General Assembly and signed into law by Governor Perdue on May 12, 2010. In this legislation, modifications were made to Title 8,Title 25, and Title 43 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated(O.C.G.A.), regarding licensing and permitting fees. The new annual license fee for manufacturers is $440.00. The new annual license fee for retailers and retail brokers is $300.00 for each retail location. The new annual license fee for installers is $300.00. And the new fee for permits is $60.00 for each manufactured home installed.
Since January 1, 2005 the Manufactured Housing Section is responsible for performing random inspections on installations performed by each installer. Violations found during random inspections will require correction. The changes to the law also give the Department additional enforcement provisions regarding violations.