The Georgia Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner and his Public Education Division works closely with different organizations throughout the state of Georgia providing fire safety training and education. Saving lives through educating our Georgia citizens is a driving force for the Commissioner.
In working with the caregiver industry, the Commissioner's office has over 550 certified caregiver fire safety instructors who can teach caregiver professionals the fire safety training needed as required by the State Fire Marshal’s Office. A 5-hour initial course and a 2-hour refresher course are specific training required for all caregiver professionals. Please watch for upcoming changes. Since 2000, when this training became required for all caregiver staff, there has been thousands of caregiver staff certified in fire safety training.
In working with the public and private schools throughout the state, the Commissioner's office provides an on line reporting system for every public and private K – 12 school to report their fire drills and severe weather drills. School fire drills must be conducted by all Georgia schools.